Kiri 4.0

When I first started transition, I assumed (probably correctly) that children would not realistically be a part of my future. I also couldn’t stomach the thought of being considered anyone’s “father” even from a perspective I did not share. For these two reasons, I didn’t make any attempt to store sperm before going on hormones. Now, however, I’m having second thoughts… now that I’m sterile and it’s too late to do anything about it. Umm… oops?

Even though I’d long been dysphoric because I didn’t have a uterus and couldn’t get pregnant, the desire for children didn’t become a crushing thing for me until I’d been on hormones for a while. I don’t know if there’s some weird neurological thing going on, or if it’s just that my turning 30 has made me think a lot about my own mortality, but there it is. And there are a million reasons…

View original post 99 more words

