One in Six Trans Men

I am one trans man. I’ve never thought I was a good representative of our community, being neither average nor exceedingly virtuous. I’ve found myself in the position, anyway, of answering for all of us at times, and been uneasy about it.

Being older trans men who have had years to adjust to the changes we made in our lives when we began living as men, my husband and I sometimes become informal mentors to young or newly transitioning trans men, in person or online. Sometimes trans men just want to connect to others like ourselves, so we don’t feel alone in the world, or we need to create a space for ourselves that is enriched with the kinds of images we need.

When someone neither of us knew sent Kevin a friend request on Facebook recently, he showed me the guy’s profile picture: a young trans man on…

View original post 647 more words

